Sixteen Properties Honored in Heritage Foundation’s 46th Annual Meeting

Roberts-Moore House
Roberts-Moore House

The Heritage Foundation of Franklin & Williamson County commemorated nearly a decade of preservation work at their 46th Annual Meeting and Preservation Awards Thursday, May 2, 2013 at the Franklin Theatre.

Each May, the non-profit organization uses the evening to recap the past year’s accomplishments and celebrate outstanding historic preservation projects. The meeting also served as a platform to announce the official purchase agreement of the “old, old jail,” which the Heritage Foundation will restore to its ca. 1941 Art Deco appearance and use as office space.

Among the 2013 honorees were Franklin Mayor Ken Moore and his wife, Linda. The Roberts-Moore House on Third Avenue South was selected as the Overall Winner for the residential rehabilitation of the 19th century structure.

“This is a textbook example of historic rehabilitation, because both the exterior and interior included perfectly balanced modern additions,” said judge Dan Brown, a certified local government coordinator with the Tennessee Historical Commission. ”It is a perfect addition to Franklin’s historically rehabilitated architectural patrimony and a shining example of how to do historic preservation the right way.”

In addition to the Roberts-Moore House’s grand prize, the Heritage Foundation recognized 15 separate projects that exhibited historical deference, including rehabilitations of residential and commercial structures, and new construction that complements the historic character of the Williamson County community. Mary Ellen Stevens was included in the honors for placing a conservation easement with the Land Trust of Tennessee on Windsong Farm in Leiper’s Fork.

The following structures received recognition in the 2013 award ceremony:

  • Anthropologie (Award of Merit for Commercial Rehab)
  • Blakely House (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Coffee House on Second & Bridge (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Factory at Franklin (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Franklin Battlefield Inn (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Frothy Monkey (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Jamison House (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Mathis-Richards House (Award of Merit for Historic Renovation)
  • McCandless House (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Ogilvie Place-Beech Hill Farm (Award of Merit for Historic Renovation)
  • Ty’s House (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Windsong Farm (Conservation Land Easement)
  • 412 Eddy Lane (Award of Merit for Historic Renovation)
  • 901 Evans Street  (Award of Merit for New Design)
  • 911 Evans Street (Award of Merit for New Design)