Heritage Foundation Calls for 2015 Preservation Awards Nominations

Harris-McEwen Home

The Heritage Foundation of Franklin & Williamson County is now accepting nominations for its 48th Annual Preservation Awards, which serve to celebrate outstanding historic preservation projects in the community. To receive a form, contact Heritage Foundation’s Linda Childs at 615-591-8500 ext. 16. The document can also be downloaded HERE: 2015 Preservation Awards Application.

The awards recognize the vision of those who help the Foundation protect and preserve historic structures. They include both residential and commercial rehabilitations, as well as new construction projects, that complement the character of Williamson County.

Winners are announced each May at the nonprofit’s yearly member meeting, which falls during National Historic Preservation Month. The 48th Annual Preservation Awards ceremony will be held on May 19, 2015 at the Franklin Theatre, and will commemorate nearly half a century of preservation work.

“We are extremely proud of the property owners who have saved jewels of this community, and eagerly anticipate recognizing their efforts each year,” said Mary Pearce, executive director of the Heritage Foundation. “Historic preservation, done the right way, is part of what makes Williamson County so unique. These owners’ visions have helped the Foundation protect and preserve additional pieces of our heritage.”

Taking home the top honors of 2014 were GRAY’S on Main and the Harris-McEwen Home, downtown Franklin properties that nabbed the Overall Winner awards for commercial and residential rehabilitation, respectively. In addition to the two grand Preservation Award prizes, the Heritage Foundation recognized 21 separate projects at last year’s banquet that demonstrated the value of preservation.

Properties may be nominated by outside parties, or submitted by owners. 2015 awards categories will be determined once the nominations have been received and reviewed.

The new application deadline is April 10, 2015.

The Heritage Foundation of Franklin & Williamson County is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization whose mission is to protect and preserve the architectural, geographic and cultural heritage of Franklin and Williamson County and to promote the ongoing economic revitalization of downtown Franklin in the context of historic preservation.

Sixteen Properties Honored in Heritage Foundation’s 46th Annual Meeting

Roberts-Moore House
Roberts-Moore House

The Heritage Foundation of Franklin & Williamson County commemorated nearly a decade of preservation work at their 46th Annual Meeting and Preservation Awards Thursday, May 2, 2013 at the Franklin Theatre.

Each May, the non-profit organization uses the evening to recap the past year’s accomplishments and celebrate outstanding historic preservation projects. The meeting also served as a platform to announce the official purchase agreement of the “old, old jail,” which the Heritage Foundation will restore to its ca. 1941 Art Deco appearance and use as office space.

Among the 2013 honorees were Franklin Mayor Ken Moore and his wife, Linda. The Roberts-Moore House on Third Avenue South was selected as the Overall Winner for the residential rehabilitation of the 19th century structure.

“This is a textbook example of historic rehabilitation, because both the exterior and interior included perfectly balanced modern additions,” said judge Dan Brown, a certified local government coordinator with the Tennessee Historical Commission. ”It is a perfect addition to Franklin’s historically rehabilitated architectural patrimony and a shining example of how to do historic preservation the right way.”

In addition to the Roberts-Moore House’s grand prize, the Heritage Foundation recognized 15 separate projects that exhibited historical deference, including rehabilitations of residential and commercial structures, and new construction that complements the historic character of the Williamson County community. Mary Ellen Stevens was included in the honors for placing a conservation easement with the Land Trust of Tennessee on Windsong Farm in Leiper’s Fork.

The following structures received recognition in the 2013 award ceremony:

  • Anthropologie (Award of Merit for Commercial Rehab)
  • Blakely House (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Coffee House on Second & Bridge (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Factory at Franklin (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Franklin Battlefield Inn (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Frothy Monkey (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Jamison House (Award of Merit for Sustainability)
  • Mathis-Richards House (Award of Merit for Historic Renovation)
  • McCandless House (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Ogilvie Place-Beech Hill Farm (Award of Merit for Historic Renovation)
  • Ty’s House (Award of Merit for Adaptive Reuse)
  • Windsong Farm (Conservation Land Easement)
  • 412 Eddy Lane (Award of Merit for Historic Renovation)
  • 901 Evans Street  (Award of Merit for New Design)
  • 911 Evans Street (Award of Merit for New Design)